.
.
.
..
.....
.

Synchronized Birthday Tea Party

Thanks to everyone who came and everyone who didn't! I had an excellent cuppa at my house, between the hrs of 10 and 11 am PST on the morn of Feb. 5. Big 2-1! woot! Raise the roof!

Ahem. Here's my digital record. I had a pretty hilarious time setting up pictures; I did it all with the camera timer and some scrambling around. (I think Amy will feel me most when I say that this was tons of fun and totally made me laugh.)

(Other people's pictures are and will be posted at the bottom.)

To adapt the words of poet John Donne:

"Ask not for whom the birthday party is held; it is held for thee."

---

So, I nearly ignored the alarm to get up in time, but luckily Ame-dogg rang in early to save the day. When I stopped talking to her it was exactly 10:00.


The first steep.

I figured I should brew a tea that was given me, so I chose Simran's tuocha. It's a tea that tastes dirty, dark, and sweet.

.

So I made this cup in my first semester of ceramics, and I made it specifically for ceremonial purposes. It occurred to me to use that.


Check out the Eye of Horus in the middle!

(further glory of the cup.)

Here I am! Last sip of the first cup.

A toast to absent friends:


(is it the head of an old woman,
or a person holding a teacup? one never knows...)

.....

...

.


Oh the ambience. This is the product of you-don't-know-HOW-many shots.

.

...

.....

I used the little two-cup glass teapot that I got at Far Leaves with Christianna. Here we go:

And there we have it! Tea downed in honor of my friends on the 21st anniversary of my arrival into this world.

Love and all of that,
Miss Interpretation.

---

And hey, look! I'm not the only one that came!

My sister's end of the party (Wow!)

.
..
.....

what are you looking at?

.

Thank You.